Travel

My Italian Travel Wish List

screen-shot-2017-02-19-at-1-51-24-pmI’ve been living in Italy for about six months now and while we’ve been able to explore a TON of Italian cities, there are quite a few destinations that are still on my wish list. I’ll only be in Italy for three more months so I don’t think I’ll be able to visit all ten of the places listed below (but that’s not going to stop me from trying).

  1. Naples
  2. Modena (the home of balsamic vinegar and only a 20-minute train ride from Bologna – can’t believe I haven’t been yet!)
  3. Capri
  4. Lake Como
  5. Palermo (and the rest of Sicily)
  6. Bagni San Filippo (gorgeous outdoor hot springs in Tuscany)
  7. Amalfi Coast
  8. Β Siena
  9. Bari
  10. Lucca

Image via discover.planet

30 thoughts on “My Italian Travel Wish List

  1. Have you been to Trieste? It’s a 3 hour train ride from Bologna and it’s very pretty! There’s also a lot of small towns around Trieste worth exploring, but I may be biased because the first time I ever went to a foreign country, I stayed in a small town there for 3 weeks πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    1. If you haven’t been to Venice, definitely go – it’s popular for a reason! In terms of smaller destinations, Ravenna has amazing mosaics, Sirmione is a great little town on Lake Garda, and the whole area of Cinque Terre is a must. I hope this helps πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lake Como is definitely on my list of places to go…along with most of the places on your list as well! I’ve never been to Italy but have only ever heard wonderful things about it. It’s great that you’re able to live there and experience it on such a deeper level.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve done the exact same thing in Indonesia; there’s just so much to see! As far as Italy goes, I’ve always wanted to visit Lake Como. I didn’t like Naples too much aside form Pompeii which was absolutely mindblowing. Have you picked up the language over there?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My Italian is still pretty terrible. I’ve found that whenever I try to practice in a restaurant or bar that the person immediately knows I’m American and switches to perfect English. I think a lot of people here are looking for opportunities to practice their English, which makes ordering something very easy but makes practicing my Italian difficult!

      Like

Leave a Reply

