Food · Restaurants · Travel

Stop Number Five: A Tapas-Filled Day in San Sebastian

img_6484

San Sebastian (or Donostia in Basque) is one of my favorite cities in Basque Country. With its warmer weather, streets upon streets of shopping, great beaches filled with surfers year-round, and endless tapas bars, it’s hard to not fall in love with the city.

When I was a little girl, I visited San Sebastian many times with my parents. I remember my dad took us to this one tapas bar that he said his grandfather took him to all the time when he was a kid. While I didn’t know the name of the bar, I was determined to find it and continue this little tradition.

Who knew how quickly we would just stumble upon it! We weren’t in San Sebastian for even a full hour (and I hadn’t even really started searching for it) when we just walked right by it and I immediately knew that it was the right one.

Bar Gorriti serves up an impressive number of traditional tapas for such a tiny space (although it seemed so much larger when I was younger). A few tapas here was such a perfect way to kick-off our time in San Sebastian – a way to honor the great memories I have from all those summer vacations as a kid while creating new memories as an adult.

img_6841

img_3148

img_2471

img_0697

7 thoughts on “Stop Number Five: A Tapas-Filled Day in San Sebastian

Leave a Reply

